What Makes You Think You're Awake?

What Makes You Think You're Awake?

Maegan Poland

$9.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

These edgy stories contain a potent mix of stark realism, fantasmic sexuality, and fabulism—in other words, they are eerily prescient about our current life. Poland even managed to write about a pandemic before the present one occurred. Already well published, Poland will work to place some of the unpublished stories from the collection in prominent publications such as LitHub and Catapult. This collection will appeal to fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Karen Russell, or even Shirley Jackson.


Author

Maegan Poland:

Maegan Poland teaches creative writing and composition at Drexel University in Philadelphia. She received her PhD in English from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, where her work was supported by a Black Mountain Institute fellowship. She also holds an MFA in fiction from the University of Mississippi, as well as a BFA in writing for screen and television from the University of Southern California, where she was a Trustee Scholar.

Her fiction has been published in Mississippi Review, Pleiades, Beloit Fiction Journal, Juked, Notre Dame Review, and elsewhere. She has received a special mention in the Pushcart Prize anthology, a Tin House scholarship, and a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation. She is currently working on a novel.

Info

Reviews