The Invincibles

The Invincibles

The Inside Story of the 1982 Australians, the Team Who Changed Rugby Forever

Mark Flanagan


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


In the autumn of 1982 a youthful Australian rugby league squad embarked on a 22-leg tour of the UK and France, with the highlight of three Test matches against Great Britain.

Four years earlier the Kangaroos had won a close-fought series 2-1, and another titanic struggle was expected.

But this new generation of Aussies proved extraordinarily brilliant.

The likes of Mal Meninga, Brett Kenny, Eric Grothe, Wayne Pearce, Peter Sterling and Wally Lewis played an exhilarating brand of high-risk, free-flowing rugby which dazzled British fans.

The tourists made history by winning every game, marking the start of a golden era for Test rugby league - and many of the Australian stars went on to enjoy successful stints playing club rugby in England, famously Meninga (St Helens), Sterling (Hull) and Kenny (Wigan).

As a rugby league side the Aussies had everything, and became known as the Invincibles.

This is their story, told by those who faced the challenge of tackling one of world sport's greatest ever teams.